Main content of the website

  • font:A
  • A
  • A


2023-2024 Standing Committees

Council meets the first & third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

Community Services Committee
Members: Councillors Grumpelt, Cowan, Dunning
Dates: 2nd & 4th Thursday monthly
Time: 12:00 p.m.

Planning and Finance Committee
Members: Committee of the Whole, CAO, ACAO
Dates: 2nd & 4th Tuesday monthly
Time: 6:30 p.m.

Transportation and Sewer & Water Committee
Members: Councillors Cruickshank, Penner, Savy
Dates: 3rd Thursday monthly
Time: 5:00 p.m.

Dennis County Development Partnership
Members: Mayor Williams, Councillors Savy, Penner (alternate)
Dates: Quarterly 3rd Wednesday of the month
Time: 3:30 p.m.

Quasi-Municipal Boards & Commissions

Border Regional Library
Appointees: Councillors Penner, Cruickshank (alternate) - at large Jennifer Abel, Denise Mayo
Date: 2nd Monday of the month
Time: 7:30 p.m.

Doctor Recruitment & Retention
Appointees: Councillor Savy - at large Maxine Chacun
Time: 7:30 a.m.

Prairie Gateway Tourism Board
Members: Councillor Cowan

Virden Veterinary Services District
Appointee: Councillor Grumpelt

Wallace District Fire Board
Appointees: Councillors Cowan, Savy, Dunning (alternate)
4th Monday of the month

Trans Canada West Planning District
Appointees: Mayor Williams, Councillors Cruickshank, Grumpelt (alternate)
Monthly – Mondays

Town of Virden Airport Commission
Appointees: Councillors Penner, Dunning

Westman Emergency Management Plan
Appointees: Councillors Penner, Grumpelt

Non-Municipal Boards & Commissions

Virden Centennial Housing Corporation - Princess Lodge
Appointees: Councillor Dunning – at large Karen McKinnon
4th Monday

Seniors Access to Independent Living
Appointee: Mayor Williams
Date: 2nd Wednesday 6/year
Time: 9:15 a.m.

Virden Theatre Board
Appointee: Councillor Grumpelt
1st Monday - Evening

Virden and Area Handi-Van Committee
Appointee: Councillor Savy

Pioneer Home Museum
Appointee: Councillor Dunning
4th Thursday - Evening

Virden Employment Skills Centre
Appointee: Councillor Cruickshank
Date: 3rd Wednesday
Time: 7:00 a.m.

RCMP Community Safety Committee
Appointees: Mayor Williams, Councillor Savy

Boost Committee
Appointee: Councillor Cruickshank